Day 5

8 04 2007

Wow, today was really fun. I sorta just got back from hiking In Topanga State Park and I have dirt and dried sweat all over me… its pretty much one of the greatest feelings ever (the next one is washing the crap off)

So I woke up at 7-ish today and got ready for the hike. I brought two cliff bars and two water bottles. (in the end I ate both bars and drank one of the bottles) So we head up to the park in a car and we’re driving on highway 1, which is really nice. After driving for a long time, we realize that we probably passed the entrance so we headed back and found the group and we all headed down to the park.

It’s so amazing that there’s actually places like the park in LA, I sorta just thought the whole place was developed. So we drive to the park entrance and everyone gets out and we start hiking down into the mountains. The weather was perfect and there were a lot of really neat scraggly trees and bushes along the way. It wasn’t too hot and the sky was somewhat overast, which was good, since it didn’t get so hot. So we hike for a couple of miles and we hit the start of the Santa Ynez waterfall. In order to get up, you had to go through a series of rock faces by using a rope. When we got to the top of the falls, most of us (the excursion club) headed to this really steep rock that jutted out into the forest floor. It was really high up, and I was nervous at first but the view was really nice.

After that, we wanted to go to this sandstone mountian that was at an even higher elevation. So a group of us headed up and it was pretty hard getting up, but we did it and it was very rewarding. After that, we headed back down and hiked back to the parking lot and drove home.

I just got back and I feel like taking a shower, but I thought I should blog first becuase I might not blog later since I would be too tired. Anyways, I did and now I’m going to go. By the way, if you’re reading this, you should go hiking or something along those lines…its pretty amazing.

Later days,

-Kev

[rockyou id=63469384&w=426&h=320]

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

